NatureFresh amongst finalists for World’s Most Inspirational Tomato Grower

More News Top Stories
NatureFresh amongst finalists for World’s Most Inspirational Tomato Grower

Canada-based NatureFresh Farms has been named as one of five finalists for the prestigious international award of Worlds Most Inspirational Tomato Grower. 

The award, handed out each year during the annual Fruit Logistica in Berlin, Germany, recognizes the top tomato growers worldwide who have been nominated by an international jury from the tomato industry.

“To be recognized this year as one of the top 5 most inspirational tomato growers in the world is a tremendous achievement”, owner and president Peter Quiring said.

“Our initiatives to increase fresh tomato consumption have helped raise the bar in delivering consistent quality to the consumer while reducing food miles wherever possible. To all the nominees, I congratulate you on this very important accolade."

NatureFresh Farms highlighted its approach to consumer education - with the mobile Greenhouse Education Center coupled with the launch of the TomBar & TomBall Machine - as examples of efforts to help increase fresh produce consumption.

“It is an honour to be nominated with the worlds best tomato growers,” farm general manager John Ketler said.

"We have built our business with a vision of growing great tomatoes year-round at our facilities in Leamington, ON and now Delta, OH. S

"Supported by a solid infrastructure, forward thinking technology, seed research & development, strategic marketing, and a great team of people, it has helped us create consistent products that our customers love, regardless of the season."

Five nominees from around the world are being recognized for their contributions to the tomato industry. NatureFresh Farms is the only grower from North America who has been nominated this year.

Key supporters of the Tomato Inspiration Awards include Priva, Koppert, Svensson, as well as Monsanto, Axia, and Enza Zaden.

The Tomato Inspiration Event takes place on Thursday evening, Feb. 9 in Berlin, Germany where the 2017 Award will be presented.

Subscribe to our newsletter