Prestigious award for New York Apple Association

More News Top Stories
Prestigious award for New York Apple Association

The New York Apple Association (NYAA) has been named Business of the Year (2018) by the New York State Agricultural Society (NYSAS).

The award is presented annually in recognition of quality, leadership and innovation in production agriculture and agribusiness in New York state. NYAA received the award at a ceremony held Thursday, Jan. 4 in Syracuse.

“NYAA is pleased and honored to receive this notable acknowledgment,” said NYAA president Cynthia Haskins.

“To be recognized by the New York State Agricultural Society is one of our Association’s finest highlights and we are proud with gratitude.” 

From left, NYAA Executive Assistant Joan Willis, New York State Department of Agriculture & Markets Richard A. Ball, NYAA President Cynthia Haskins, NYAA Public Relations Manager Tami Bacon and Vice President Northeast Agribusiness & Feed Alliance John Clark, sponsor of the Business of the Year award.

NYAA represents New York’s 700 apple growers and its mission is to promote the state’s apple industry and its prominent place as the second largest apple producing state in the nation.

“This award recognizes qualities New York growers, board members and staff demonstrate daily in their commitment to promoting New York apples,” said NYAA board chairman Jason Woodworth of Lamont Fruit Farm, Inc.

NYAA works closely with retailers across the country to promote New York apples, ciders and sauces, offering advertisements, custom promotions and exclusive online content.

The association also markets directly to consumers using television, radio, billboards and social media to communicate the distinctive flavor of all New York varieties. Similarly, NYAA’s website - - promotes New York farm markets, cideries and ‘you-pick’ operations where New York apples are grown and sold. NYAA also links local apple suppliers to schools and other foodservice operations.

The Business of the Year Award was first awarded in 2001 to Wegman’s Food Markets. Agribusinesses recognized with the award through the years include: Canandaigua Wine, O-At-Ka Dairy Cooperative, Stewart’s Shops, Dairylea Cooperative, Inc. Marshman Farms, I.L. Richer Company, Inc., Nelson Farms at Morrisville State College, Carolina Eastern-Vail, Inc., Cayuga Marketing, Hudson Valley Fresh, Eden Valley Growers, Inc., Chobani, Farm Credit East and Upstate Niagara Cooperative, Inc.

Subscribe to our newsletter